BIO Elects John Maraganore, Ph.D., as New Chair

Election also named new officers and Board members

Innovation Organization
(BIO) is pleased to announce the election of
John Maraganore, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, Alnylam
Pharmaceuticals, Inc., as the new Chair of its Board of Directors for
the 2017-2018 term, and the election of Julie Gerberding, Executive Vice
President for Strategic Communications, Global Public Policy &
Population Health & Chief Patient Officer, Merck, as its new Board
Secretary. BIO also is pleased to announce the re-election of Bradford
Zakes, Chief Executive Officer, Cerevast Therapeutics, as Board
Treasurer, and the election of 19 Directors to serve on BIO’s Board
Executive Committee for the new term. In addition, BIO welcomes the
election of 15 new members to its Board of Directors, voted upon at this
year’s 2017
BIO International Convention

The new Chair has led a career pursuing therapies to address unmet
medical needs. At Alnylam Pharmaceuticals, Maraganore is helping lead
the development of RNAi therapeutics which aim to address genetic
medicines, cardio-metabolic diseases and hepatic infectious diseases.

“We are excited for this new chapter of BIO with John at the helm,” said
BIO President and CEO Jim Greenwood. “He brings both a scientific
background and a passion for ensuring that breakthrough research is
transformed into medicines, therapies and other products that can truly
change people’s lives. He is keenly aware that educating the public and
policy makers is the best way to ensure that effective therapies reach
the marketplace.

“I also want to thank our departing Chair, Ron Cohen, for his leadership
over the past two years. Ron started his tenure with appropriately
changing our name from the Biotechnology Industry Organization to
the Biotechnology Innovation Organization to better reflect our
real purpose. For the past few years, our industry has weathered many
challenges. Ron’s steady and able leadership has been critical in
ensuring that our industry remains positioned to continue our mission of
healing, fueling and feeding the world.”

Dr. Maraganore has served on BIO’s board for over a decade and has spent
time as the chair of the Emerging Companies Section and as a co-chair of
the Regulatory Environment Committee.

“I am honored and privileged to be selected for this important role,”
said Maraganore. “My belief in the importance of BIO’s mission will
guide me through my tenure. This industry has so much to offer and I
will make every effort to ensure we are able to deliver.”

Greenwood also welcomed new directors joining the BIO Board. “The new
Directors bring a wealth of expertise and diversity in experience that
will help to inspire and guide our efforts going forward,” he said. “I
am confident that their contributions to BIO and the industry will be

Departing Board member contributions were also recognized by Greenwood.
“BIO is deeply appreciative of the generous service of our departing
board members,” said Greenwood. “Their tireless work on behalf of our
industry will leave a lasting mark.”

Members of the Executive Committee of BIO’s Board of Directors for the
2017-2018 term are:

  1. John Maraganore, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, Alnylam
    Pharmaceuticals – Board Chair/Health Section Chair
  2. Bradford Zakes, Chief Executive Officer, Cerevast Therapeutics – Board
  3. Julie Gerberding, Executive Vice President & Chief Patient Officer,
    Merck – Board Secretary
  4. Paul Hastings, Chairman & CEO, OncoMed Pharmaceuticals – Health
    Section Vice Chair
  5. Alan Shaw, President & CEO, Calysta – Industrial & Environmental
    Section (IES) Chair
  6. Tjerk de Ruiter, Chief Executive Officer, Corbian – IES Vice Chair
  7. Michael Narachi, President & CEO, Orexigen Therapeutics – Emerging
    Companies Section (ECS) Chair
  8. Maxine Gowen, President & CEO, Trevena, ECS Vice Chair
  9. Eddie Sullivan, President & CEO, SAB Biotherapeutics – Food and
    Agriculture Section (FAS) Chair
  10. Phillip Miller, Global Regulatory & Government Affairs Lead, Monsanto
    Company, FAS Vice Chair
  11. Ron Cohen, President & CEO, Acorda Therapeutics – Immediate
    Past Chair
  12. Stuart Arbuckle, Executive Vice President & Chief Commercial Officer,
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated – At-Large
  13. Albert Bourla, Group President of Global Innovative Pharma Global
    Vaccines Oncology & Consumer, Pfizer – At-Large
  14. Doug Doerfler, President & CEO, MaxCyte – At-Large
  15. Rachel King, Chief Executive Officer, GlycoMimetics – At-Large
  16. Jeremy Levin, Chairman & CEO, Ovid Therapeutics – At-Large
  17. Richard Pops, Chairman & CEO, Alkermes – At-Large
  18. Christi Shaw, Senior Vice President of Lilly Bio-Medicines, Eli Lilly
    and Company – At-Large
  19. Jay Siegel, Chief Biotechnology Officer & Head of Scientific Strategy
    & Policy, Johnson & Johnson – At-Large

The full BIO Board of Directors is comprised of the elected Directors
serving on each of BIO’s Section Governing Boards. The newly-elected
Board Members from these Sections are:

Health Section Governing Board

  • Carsten Brunn, Head of Pharmaceuticals, American Region, Bayer
  • Paul McKenzie, Executive Vice President, Pharmaceutical Operations &
    Technology, Biogen
  • Josh Ofman, Senior Vice President, Global Value, Access & Policy, Amgen
  • Anne Phillips, Senior Vice President, Clinical, Medical & Regulatory
    Affairs, Novo Nordisk
  • Christi Shaw, U.S. Country President, Eli Lilly and Company
  • Scott Smith, President & Chief Operating Officer, Celgene
  • Nancy Simonian, Chief Executive Officer, Syros Pharmaceuticals
  • Chris Healey, Executive Director, North America, Grifols
  • John Lepore, Senior Vice President, GlaxoSmithKline

Emerging Companies Section Governing Board

  • Laura Berezin, Partner, Cooley, LLP
  • Bassil Dahiyat, President, Director & CEO, XmAb
  • Deborah Dunsire, President & CEO, XTuit Pharmaceuticals
  • Neil Kumar, Chief Executive Officer, BridgeBIO
  • George Scangos, Director & CEO, Vir

Industrial & Environmental Section Governing

  • Christopher Standlee, Vice President Legal Affairs, ICM

About BIO

BIO is the world’s largest trade association representing biotechnology
companies, academic institutions, state biotechnology centers and
related organizations across the United States and in more than 30 other
nations. BIO members are involved in the research and development of
innovative healthcare, agricultural, industrial and environmental
biotechnology products. BIO also produces the BIO
International Convention
, the world’s largest gathering of the
biotechnology industry, along with industry-leading investor and
partnering meetings held around the world. BIOtechNOW is
BIO’s blog chronicling “innovations transforming our world” and the BIO
Newsletter is the organization’s bi-weekly email newsletter. Subscribe
to the BIO Newsletter

Upcoming BIO Events

BIO World Congress on Industrial Biotechnology
July 23-26, 2017

BIO Patient and Health Advocacy Summit
The Mayflower Hotel,
Washington, DC
October 2-3, 2017

BIO Investor Forum
San Francisco
October 17-18, 2017


Biotechnology Innovation Organization
, 202-962-9235