BIO is Now Accepting Nominations for its 2018 Rosalind Franklin Award

WASHINGTON–(BUSINESS WIRE)–#BIOWC18–Each year, the Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) presents the
Rosalind Franklin Award for Leadership in Industrial Biotechnology to an
outstanding woman in the industrial biotechnology sector who has made
significant contributions to the advancement of the biobased economy and
biotech innovation. BIO is now accepting nominations for the 2018
Rosalind Franklin Award. The award will be presented at the 2018 World
Congress on Industrial Biotechnology in Philadelphia at the Pennsylvania
Convention Center from July 16-19, 2018. The deadline to submit
nominations is March 28, 2018.

“Rosalind Franklin’s contribution to the discovery of DNA’s structure
has been vital to the advancement of the field of biotechnology, but her
legacy has often been overlooked,” said Brent Erickson, Executive Vice
President, Industrial and Environmental at BIO. “In presenting this
award we hope to not only honor Rosalind Franklin’s legacy but also
honor and inspire the women working in the field of industrial
biotechnology today.”

In 1952, while working as a research associate at King’s College in
London, Rosalind Franklin conceived and captured Photograph 51 of the
“B” form of DNA. This photograph, acquired through 100 hours of X-ray
exposure from a machine Dr. Franklin herself refined, revealed the
structure of DNA. The discovery was the single most important advance of
modern biology. James Watson and Francis Crick, working at Cambridge
University, used Photograph 51 as the basis for their famous model of
DNA, which earned them a Nobel Prize in 1962. Though sometimes
overlooked, Rosalind Franklin’s critical work and discovery in the field
has allowed the biotechnology industry to become what it is today.

The Rosalind Franklin Award is sponsored by the Rosalind
Franklin Society
whose goal is to support and showcase the careers
of eminent women in science.

Past recipients of the Rosalind Franklin Award include:

  • Vonnie Estes, Independent Consultant, in 2017
  • Anna Rath, President and CEO of NexSteppe, in 2016
  • Dr. Jennifer Holmgren, CEO of LanzaTech, in 2015
  • Dr. Debbie Yavers, Director of Expression Technology, Genomics and
    Bioinformatics at Novozymes, in 2014

More information
about the nomination process is available here

Nominees must be living individuals who exhibit leadership qualities,
and have pioneered efforts in industrial biotechnology. Applicants
should demonstrate significant innovative contributions in a field
integral to the advancement of a biobased economy.

All programs at the World Congress on Industrial Biotechnology are open
to attendance by members of the media. Complimentary media
registration is available
to editors and reporters working full time
for print, broadcast or web publications with valid press credentials.

is now open for all attendees.

For more information on the conference please visit
For assistance, please contact

About BIO

BIO is the world’s largest trade association representing biotechnology
companies, academic institutions, state biotechnology centers and
related organizations across the United States and in more than 30 other
nations. BIO members are involved in the research and development of
innovative healthcare, agricultural, industrial and environmental
biotechnology products. BIO also produces the BIO
International Convention
, the world’s largest gathering of the
biotechnology industry, along with industry-leading investor and
partnering meetings held around the world. BIOtechNOW is
BIO’s blog chronicling “innovations transforming our world” and the BIO
Newsletter is the organization’s bi-weekly email newsletter. Subscribe
to the BIO Newsletter


Biotechnology Innovation Organization
Connor McKoy, 202-312-9288