Commonwealth Fund President, David Blumenthal, MD, MPP, Named 2017 Recipient of the William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research

WASHINGTON & DEERFIELD, Ill.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–David Blumenthal has been named the 2017 recipient of the William B.
Graham Prize for Health Services Research.

Dr. Blumenthal has served the public throughout his distinguished career
in medicine, health services research, and leadership in the domains of
health policy, health information technology innovation, and the
organization and financing of medical care. His contributions in
research and leadership have influenced healthcare management, practice
and policy over the past three decades.

Dr. David Blumenthal is the unanimous 2017 awardee of the Graham
Prize,” said Douglas A. Conrad, Professor Emeritus of Health Services at
the University of Washington Seattle, and the 2017 Graham Prize
selection committee chair.

The Prize, which has been awarded since 1986, recognizes the
contributions of health services researchers who have had a significant
impact on the health of the public in one of three primary focus areas:
health services management, health policy development, and healthcare
delivery. The contributions of Dr. Blumenthal reflect all three of these
areas. An independent committee of past winners, distinguished
academics, and internationally recognized researchers selects the
recipient each year.

I am deeply humbled by this honor, and in accepting I am cognizant of
my debt to all my colleagues — past and present — at the Massachusetts
General Hospital, Harvard University, the Office of the National
Coordinator, and the Commonwealth Fund, as well as colleagues and peers
all over the world,” said Dr. Blumenthal. “Without their support and
collaboration, my work would have been much less fulfilling and
productive. Next year, the Commonwealth Fund will celebrate its
centennial and reflect on 100 years of working toward the goal of a
high-performing, affordable, and equitable health system for all
Americans. Receiving the William B. Graham prize, which was previously
bestowed on my predecessor at the Fund, Karen Davis, is a wonderful way
to mark this important anniversary. Many thanks to The Baxter
International Foundation and the Association of University Programs in
Health Administration for administering this program, for recognizing
notable efforts to promote research and evidence in health care, and for
this much appreciated award.”

David Blumenthal, MD, MPP, is president of The Commonwealth Fund, a
private, nonprofit foundation that supports independent research on
health policy reform and a high performance health system. He is the
former Samuel O. Thier Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School
and Chief Health Information and Innovation Officer at Partners
Healthcare System in Boston. From 2009 to 2011, Dr. Blumenthal served as
the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology, with the
charge to build an interoperable, private, and secure nationwide health
information system and to support the widespread, meaningful use of
health IT. Previously, he was a practicing primary care physician,
director of the Institute for Health Policy, and professor of medicine
and health policy at Massachusetts General Hospital/Partners Healthcare
System and Harvard Medical School. Dr. Blumenthal is the author of more
than 250 books and scholarly publications, including Heart of Power:
Health and Politics in the Oval Office

The Prize is awarded by The Baxter International Foundation and the
Association of University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA), and
will be presented on Thursday, June 15, 2017, during the AUPHA Annual
Meeting in Long Beach, California. Meeting details can be found here:

About the William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research

Since 1986, The Baxter International Foundation and the Association of
University Programs in Health Administration have awarded the William B.
Graham Prize for Health Services Research to recognize researchers who
have made major contributions to the health of the public through
innovative research in health services. The Prize honors the late
William B. Graham, longtime chairman and CEO of Baxter International
Inc., and is internationally regarded as the premier recognition for
individuals conducting health services research. The Prize includes an
award of $25,000 to the individual and $25,000 to a non-profit
institution that supports the winner’s work.

About the Prize Sponsors

Baxter (NYSE: BAX) and the Baxter International Foundation are committed
to saving and sustaining lives and creating healthier communities. Every
day, Baxter employees strive to make a meaningful difference in the
lives of people who depend on Baxter products, and in the communities
where employees live and work. Baxter provides a broad portfolio of
essential renal and hospital products, including home, acute and
in-center dialysis; sterile IV solutions; infusion systems and devices;
parenteral nutrition; biosurgery products and anesthetics; and pharmacy
automation, software and services. The company’s global footprint and
the critical nature of its products and services play a key role in
expanding access to healthcare in emerging and developed countries.
Baxter’s employees worldwide are building upon the company’s rich
heritage of medical breakthroughs to advance the next generation of
healthcare innovations that enable patient care. For more information,
please visit

AUPHA is a global network of colleges, universities, faculty,
individuals, and organizations dedicated to the improvement of
healthcare delivery through excellence in healthcare management and
policy education. Its mission is to foster excellence and innovation in
health management and policy education, and scholarship. It is the only
non-profit entity of its kind that works to improve the delivery of
health services – and thus the health of citizens – throughout the world
by educating professional managers at the entry level. AUPHA’s
membership includes the premier baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral
programs in health administration education in the United States,
Canada, and around the world. Its faculty and individual members
represent more than 400 colleges and universities. For more information,
please visit


Baxter Media Contact:
Bill Rader, (224) 948-5353
Media Contact:

Jaime E. Stephens, (202) 804-7283, ext. 310