Members of Congress Recognize 87 New Jersey Students for Achievements in Service and STEM

Members of Congress Recognize 87 New Jersey Students for Achievements in Service and STEM

Members of Congress Recognize 87 New Jersey Students for Achievements in Service and STEM

WHIPPANY, N.J.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Students across the Garden State gathered last week for The Congressional Award 2021 New Jersey Virtual Statewide Ceremony. Presented by Bayer, the event recognized 87 youth medalists for their dedication to bettering their communities through voluntary public service in addition to achieving long-term personal goals.

The ceremony was led by Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill, who represents New Jersey’s 11th Congressional District – home to Bayer US. Additional Congressional speakers included Congressman Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Congressman Andy Kim (NJ-03), Congressman Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05), and Congressman Tom Malinowski (NJ-07).

Patrick Lockwood-Taylor, President of Bayer U.S., offered opening remarks for the event. “The Congressional Award program helps recognize the positive contributions of America’s youth. Today we celebrate those students who have met their goals and found ways to give back to their communities in extremely meaningful ways,” he said.

Congresswoman Sherrill was the first among the lawmakers in attendance to offer words of encouragement to the honorees. “The Congressional Award program provides the roadmap, but it’s each of you that is able to take control of the journey and make it your own with the goal of bettering our community, our state, and our nation,” she said.

Joining Lockwood-Taylor was SVP and Head of Corporate Affairs for Bayer in the U.S. Raymond F. Kerins, Jr. Kerins, who is also a Congressional Award Board Member, spoke on the STEM Stars program, an initiative established by Bayer in 2018 which recognizes Gold Medalists who participate in STEM-related activities as part of their Congressional Award pursuits. “We’ve seen the STEM Stars program flourish and encourage young achievers all across the United States to explore their passion in science, technology, engineering, and math,” he said.

In addition to recognizing youth medalists for their achievements over the past year, the event was also open to Congressional Award participants who are currently working on earning their certificate or medal. Breakout groups during the event offered current participants a chance to network with their peers and members of Congress, as well as learn from medalists about their Congressional Award journeys.

My favorite part was connecting with the world through my community service, and being able to take my initiatives online,” noted Silver Medalist Ishani Sengupta of Edison, NJ. New Jersey remained one of The Congressional Award’s highest-participating states even throughout the pandemic, as students adjusted their activities to complete them safely and remotely.

Bronze Medalists:

Akhil Arularasu, Bridgewater

Sara Asdhir, Edison

Dylan Bell, Ocean City

Batu Cam, New Milford

Luke Carney, Rutherford

Ryan Carter, Bridgewater

Gordon Chu, Warren

Christian Corbett, East Brunswick

Ashley Cosgrove, Montclair

Julianna Costantini, Absecon

Andrew Crain, Millville

Henry Doell, Blairstown

Sriram Elango, Cinnaminson

Emily Esposito, Aberdeen

Alexandra Faeth, Ringwood

Joshua Finkelstein, Marlboro

Lucia Garabo, Hillsdale

Andrew Ge, Holmdel

Alyssia Gomez, Millville

Logan Hannah, Millville

Nathaniel Holl, Warren

Macie Jacquet, Millville

Riya Karande, North Brunswick

Eric Keller, Basking Ridge

Abigail Klein, Livingston

Naomi Klein, Livingston

Aliza Langlois, Milmay

Emma Lucier-Keller, Point Pleasant Beach

Megan Nyhuis, Ringwood

Andreas Polychronis, Lebanon

Vanessa Reina, Bergenfield

Samuel Ringel, Marlboro

Dinesh Ruben, Kendall Park

Annika Santhanam, Edison

Brooke Schwartzman, Pemberton

Joshua Sheykhet, Princeton Junction

Megan Szot, Chatham

Perry Tripido, Ridgewood

Mark Troiani, Haddonfield

Tanish Tyagi, Shorthills

Nyjeer Wesley, Neptune

Taylor Whitaker, Millville


Silver Medalists:

Sanmathi Priya Abiram Lakshmi Devi, Edison

Pari Agarwal, Edison

Gabrielle Akiatan, Millville

Christina Beggs, Voorhees

Roshini Bodicherla, Robbinsville

Michael Caggiano, Freehold

Karen Chainey, Millville

San’aa Doss, Millville

Royce Jacobs, Medford

Anthony Kukal, Millville

Evan Kuster, Clinton

Lily Mahabir, Millville

Megan Majewski, Millville

Sophie Malik, Summit

Varija Mehta, Edison

Kate Minn, Ridgewood

Kristin Osika, Mendham

Christopher Outlaw, Somerset

Akshat Parthiban, Somerset

Vansh Patel, Toms River

Aaron Phogat, Hillsborough

Matthew Reiter, Bordentown

Bennett Rhee, Northvale

Sumedha Sabbani, Robbinsville

John Santone, Medford

Ishani Sengupta, Edison

Jayme Sooy, Millville

Siddarth Sridhar, Bridgewater

Nathaniel Sun, Mahwah

Shivam Syal, Edison

Shivani Trivedi, Edison

Noah Uzzolina, Millville

Joshua Whitaker, Millville


Gold Medalists:

Nikhit Basineni, Morganville

Mark Faverzani, Ocean City

Ved Jain, Toms River

Jonathan Kaufmann, Belle Mead

Diya Kodimala, Somerset

Srikar Sadhu, Somerset

Alexander Sanfilippo-Scherer, Spotswood

Jakub Wozniak, Whitehouse Station

Pavel Zhelnin, Princeton

About Congressional Award

The Congressional Award is the United States Congress’ only charity and the highest honor bestowed upon a youth civilian through the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Established by Congress as a public-private partnership in 1979 under Public Law 96-114, the program recognizes initiative, service, and achievement in youth ages 13 ½ – 23. Learn more at

About Bayer

Bayer is a global enterprise with core competencies in the life science fields of health care and nutrition. Its products and services are designed to help people and planet thrive by supporting efforts to master the major challenges presented by a growing and aging global population. Bayer is committed to drive sustainable development and generate a positive impact with its businesses. At the same time, the Group aims to increase its earning power and create value through innovation and growth. The Bayer brand stands for trust, reliability and quality throughout the world. In fiscal 2020, the Group employed around 100,000 people and had sales of 41.4 billion euros. R&D expenses before special items amounted to 4.9 billion euros. For more information, go to

Social Media Channels

– Facebook: BayerUnitedStates
– Twitter: BayerUS
– Instagram: BayerUS
– YouTube: BayerUS

Bayer® and the Bayer Cross® are registered trademarks of Bayer.

Forward-Looking Statements

This release may contain forward-looking statements based on current assumptions and forecasts made by Bayer Group or subgroup management. Various known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors could lead to material differences between the actual future results, financial situation, development or performance of the company and the estimates given here. These factors include those discussed in Bayer’s public reports which are available on the Bayer website at The company assumes no liability whatsoever to update these forward-looking statements or to conform them to future events or developments.


Name: Carolyn Nagle

Bayer U.S.

Mobile: 201-419-0337

Name: Bethie Woodall

Congressional Award